What Gets Noticed

So I got a poem accepted today by the Eunoia Review today and it will come out in late June 2016. It’s like the ninth or tenth “fatherhood” poem, but the sixth “Sam” poem accepted. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve always felt odd about the disparity of Sam to Maya poems published. But I don’t control that. What I can control is the number of poems written, and to be honest, they are about even. The Maya poems started earlier, and they do have a lead in the total number. And that differential is proportional. That being said, the “Sam” poems appear (by a quick glancing of my CV) to be my most successful series of poems I’ve ever had. The six are most of any poem group by topic (each kid, Hawaii, my wife, Japan, etc.) and have by and large spent less time being shopped. Why is that? I don’t know, but to all those editors who’ve taken “Sam” poems, thank you! I’ll try harder on the “Maya” poems.

Do I spend more time or more care on these poems? I don’t think so. Do I subconsciously write better on these poems? I hope not, and during my revision process, I don’t see that. Do I strike a particular chord with the father/son dynamic? I don’t know. I’m not looking to question the success. I’m also not looking to just write Daddy/boy poems either. I have other poems that I think are more important and more serious that I wish would find homes and a readership. All this to say, you don’t know what other people will like from what you write. The best you can do is keep writing, keep moving forward.

This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

