DC Heroes

So I started watching “Arrow” and “The Flash.”  I never got into “Smallville” but that’s another story.  It does seem that DC is into really scarred up heroes (other than Superman, who doesn’t get them) who are really, really angry and live depressing, lonely, empty lives.  It’s not a criticism, just an observation.  Granted, it’s a bit too early with The Flash to know if this is where they’re going, but “Arrow” is definitely going that way.  I haven’t gotten a chance to see “Gotham” much yet, but that one’s got that feel too.  Angry, angry people.  I was always a Batman kind of guy (the angry one, not Adam West), but not the Frank Miller Batman.  I got tired of Frank Miller’s Batman pretty quickly, and I think it was a little too much “get off my yard” for me.

DC is doing their big movie push too, and I was kind of surprised that they were going to have some of the same characters recast for the movie versions.  Made me wonder what their plan for the TV shows is, or are they going to set up an alternate movie universe?  Such a thing would probably be easier for characters like Superman and Batman where so many actors have played these really familiar characters.  But for less-well-known heroes (Green Arrow) where the TV incarnation is the only one most viewers might know, would they accept them?  Time will tell.

But as a parent, superheroes are coming back into my life, and I’m looking around for where I can latch on.  Maya pulled off a sweet Supergirl thing and she loves wearing her Batman jacket (with mask-hood) now that it’s colder.  Ah, the wonders of the next generation!

This entry was posted in Movies, Parenting, TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

