Aiki-bum Domestic

This poem is special.  It’s a Sam poem, and the third one to be published.  I’m still conflicted since I’m looking for the first Maya poem to get published.  On the other hand, Aiki-bum Domestic is the first poem that includes my aikido life and fatherhood, thus bringing together three major aspects of my life into one place.  I wanted to write something about moving from not only my aikido intensive period into my current domestic life, but also that tricky transition of being single into be committed to my wife and kids.  In that sense, I’m pleased to have this poem out there.

I’ve watched others make this transition and then eventually transition back into an active martial arts career.  I hope that will be in my future as well.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying my time with my kids and watching them do “aikido their own way.”

This entry was posted in Aikido, Family, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

