A Jewpanese Post

I haven’t done one of these in a while, and I think I’m overdue.

One of things about our kids has always been people say to us that they really look like me.  Personally, I’ve been kind of uncomfortable with this, even though it’s almost always meant as a compliment.  The fact is, our kids have a great deal of their mother in them too.  Maya’s hair, both the color and texture, are her mother’s.  Sam, on the other hand, has a lot more features that are Jewish that one can see when you watch him a long time.  Becky has said it’s kind of strange that she’ll watch her son and see her husband in one minute and her brother the next.  Looking at video of Aaron, Sam does have a number of strong family resemblances.

In our quest to raise children within an American house that has two distinct ethnic traditions within it, I’m always on the look out for models and ideas of people who are ahead of us on the Jewpanese trail.  In that spirit, I want to thank mystery writer, Naomi Hirahara for pointing me towards this list of books.  Beyond a couple of potential Jewpanese leads, this list has some pretty interesting mixes in there as well.

This entry was posted in Jewpanese and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Jewpanese Post

  1. James Spencer says:

    Oh, how I could go on about how people react to appearances.

    What’s interesting is now that I live in Switzerland, the difference between my skin color and my daughter’s has yet to lead to the question: “Are they yours?,” – A familiar question for just about any parent in a multiracial family, in America, and a question my mother was asked about me.

Leave a Reply

