Day 13 30/30 Project: A Walk At the Reservoir

Today’s been a push.  This is the rough draft below.  The revised version is up at the 30/30 blog.  My idea was to write a couple of haiku-like stanzas as part of a longer poem.  I only got to three, but it’s an idea that I might like to work with for the next couple of days.  While haiku shouldn’t take long to write, they do require, at least I think, more energy than normal stanzas or poems.  I found this was true for these stanzas.  Each had to present an image and be somewhat independent from the other.  The sketch for the second stanza was “dragonfly lands/facing away/as if we’d disappeared.” Actually, I kind of like that, so maybe in the next version of the poem, but I did away with first line because I wanted the connection above.  In any case, I’d like to do this and see what I come up with tomorrow and Friday.

 

A WALK AT THE RESERVOIR

baby dragonfly
making thin, buzzes us
when we’re too close

lands in the same place
facing the other way
as if we’d disappeared.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

