30/30 Project Working Draft 3: Five Years

I wrote day 3’s poem about my fifth wedding anniversary.  It’s been a busy five years.  We got married, had two receptions (one near where we and my in-laws live and one where my family lives), celebrated our 1st anniversary/babymoon in Chicago, then had Maya, and then had Sam.  We moved twice in that time.  Took two airplane trips with children (one to Maryland and one to see my parents in Hawaii).  In any case, five years seemed like nothing.  We celebrated by watching a movie at the movie theater (first time in four years) and having ice cream.

My friend Jeff made the comment just after the wedding that getting through the planning and execution of the wedding was like getting your first degree black belt.  At five years looking back, I’d have to say that Jeff hit that one right one button.

 

This entry was posted in General, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

