30/30 Project Working Draft 1: In a Child’s Mind

On this first day, I posted the first completed draft, which is to say, the handwritten draft in my notebook that I felt I had come to a stopping point. Every day, I’ll post one working draft before I begin a revision for the work to be sent to Tupelo Press.  While this wasn’t my first idea, this was the first idea that came out on paper.  I was thinking about when I was kid and going to LAX for a trip.  The whole airport was a kind of wonder palace.  You had moving sidewalks, baggage claims, the terminals, comic books, and candy.  Over the years, and dozens of airports later, I found them to be expensive boring places.  Maya gets excited to go on trips, so even the taxi ride is a special thing, and I felt a bit of that old excitement when we got ready for our trip last year.  If you would like to sponsor me, please find the details in my earlier post.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

