Baking Bread

I don’t know why I grew up thinking that making bread was a really difficult thing. Mostly it’s just a lot of waiting. Proofing the yeast doesn’t take a lot of active time. Granted, kneading by hand can be pretty tough, but then I learned to do it with a food processor and now (thanks to getting married) I use a stand mixer. In any case, I get this urge to make bread and then don’t–mostly because I tell myself it’s hard.

Today, Maya and Becky went to a cookie decorating party and left to my own devices, I put together Maya’s Christmas present and baked a bread. As always, it was a lot easier than I thought. Granted, it didn’t come out quite the way I wanted it to.I think I know what I need to do next time for a crustier bread, and I’m pretty sure I was a little light on the flour. Then again, if I made it more often, I would probably get better (practice, practice, practice!).

I have Becky’s mom to thank for getting me to make bread now. The bread I make the most often is a challah. Granted, I don’t make it very often since I’m not home on Fridays to get it started. Becky’s mom taught me how she did it overnight, but I haven’t been that industrious yet. I like challah, and I particularly like Becky’s mom’s. Of course, mine doesn’t come out the same and Becky says my looks like it was braided by a boy (which it was). In any case, it occurred to me that this week, when I’m on vacation, I should make a challah. Maya might enjoy the experience. Plus, having practiced with sprinkles this morning, she might be ready to sprinkle the poppy seeds on Friday.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

